What a difference it would have made…

One of my favorite things to do on a cold, rainy day like this one is block off an hour or two for myself to peruse the shelves and rows at Half Price Books. Knowing the addiction I have to both old and new books alike and the speed at which I finish them, Marlin has grown to appreciate this as well–it’s the only way I can stick to our budget. I have a real talent for finding the most random books in any category (depending on the mood I’m in…personal finance, cooking, memoir, cooking memoirs) off the clearance trucks for like a dollar that end up somehow changing my life or instantly making their way to my “best read” lists. I don’t really have any kind of system…I walk up and down each aisle, glancing over the titles and the covers until I find something that just sticks out to me. Usually they are by authors I have never heard of and no one I know has ever read them, much less referenced them for me…yet these are some of my favorite books of all time. To those of you who are not such a nerd like I am…yes, I really do consider this a talent.

Anyway, I picked up this bright yellow book the other day titled Something More by Sarah Ban Breathnach and decided it wanted to come home with me. I just opened it this morning to see if this would be a winner or another one for the “donate pile” and I came across this little passage that sealed the deal. This one is a keeper.

I read this passage and I started thinking about myself, and how long it has taken me to realize my dreams…much less how long it has taken me to find the courage to make them happen. If, like this author, I could go back in time and see myself as a little girl, knowing what I know now about myself, what a difference it would have made.

But I know I can’t be the only woman out there who has learned this lesson, so I wanted to share it with you. Whether you are still searching for your dreams, still praying to find a way to make them reality, or already working down in the trenches to build the life you know you were meant to live, this is for you. Here’s to reaching for the stars!

“I wish I’d known from the beginning that I was born a strong woman. What a difference it would have made! I wish I’d known that I was born a courageous woman; I’ve spent so much of my life cowering. How many conversations would I not only have started but finished if I had known I possessed a warrior’s heart? I wish I’d known that I’d been born to take on the world; I wouldn’t have run from it for so long, but run to it with open arms.”

Me, circa 1988

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

