Brownie Points

Last night was game night in the Terry house; the first and quite possibly the last.

At some point in the afternoon, I remembered that Marlin has been dying to play Monopoly for months now…yes, Monopoly. Seriously. You see, Marlin loves to play games of almost any kind, really. If there’s a chance that he can win and someone else will lose, he’s in. I usually refuse to play with him because (a) I’m not really a game person, and (b) I couldn’t care less about winning, which means I’m not much fun to play with. Couple that with the fact that I’ve never seen a real game of Monopoly last less than two hours, and you’ll see why it’s taken him this long to get me to play.

So while he was working in the other room, I decided to setup the game and surprise him (yes, brownie points for the wife, please). I think he was a little stunned and suspicious when I walked him out into the living room. Just as we were getting ready to start, Marlin’s sister knocks on the door, and I am more than relieved to have a second victim suffer through with me. Poor girl, she had no idea what she was getting herself into when she stopped by.

It’s a funny thing, game night. I learned a few things about my family:

  1. If I ever end up in jail (knock on wood), my family will not bail me out. They will laugh and go back to considering their next real estate deal.
  2. My husband is a shark. Seriously, maybe he should have given it more consideration when he decided he didn’t want to become a lawyer. This guy is shrewd, and he takes no mercy. Not even on me, the love of his life, the future mother of his children. Nope, he took everything I had….with a hearty chuckle.
  3. My sister-in-law becomes more and more like Marlin every day. At one point she let out a threatening “Do you want to take the deal or not!?”. I don’t think he’s ever been more proud.

My husband still thinks I was buttering him up for something, but I really just wanted to do something special for him, and maybe earn a few brownie points. But since he made me mortgage everything I had, I think those points should be tripled.

Copyright Ashley Terry 2011

Copyright Ashley Terry 2011

2 Comments

Filed under Personal

2 responses to “Brownie Points

  1. Ha! Marlin sounds like Anthony 🙂 We should put those two in a room and let em duke it out on Monopoly 🙂

Leave a Reply

