Food, Family & Margaritas

It’s about owning the time you spend with loved ones. I believe that’s what photography is all about. Taking the time and the effort to take a picture tells us that this moment, no matter how big or small, really matters. I love knowing that, by using my camera, I can turn the most routine activities into family keepsakes (or in this case, a blog post) so we can relive the moment over and over again. Photography matters, people.

Last night my father-in-law drove into town to fix Marlin’s sister’s truck. Don’t you just love dads? He drove 270+ miles to make sure his baby girl has a safe and reliable mode of transportation, and to make sure she saved a few pennies in the process. It makes me smile because my dad and my grandpa have done the exact same thing for me, many times.

In return, all he asked is that she make him a home-cooked meal or two, so last night she and Marlin made enchiladas with green tomatillo rice, and it was quite scrumptious. Since they had everything well under control, I took a night off from the kitchen and grabbed my camera instead. It was a night of good food, family and margaritas…that’s as good as it gets.

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

My handsome husband…look at those eyes!

Ashley Terry 2011

The ever present iPhone. These two would lose their minds if they lost their iPhones. Honey, thank you for still loving me even though I am about as tech savvy as a rock.

Ashley Terry 2011

What a face. He’s always in denial when I say he’s addicted to the iPhone.

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

What a show-off with the knife skills.

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

I really loved this photo, but at first glance I wasn’t exactly sure what was so striking about it. And then I realized it’s my husband doing the dishes…what’s not to love? Marlin likes to say, “A man has never been shot doing the dishes.” I’m not sure if he feels like he needs to hint around, but I do know that he’s got to be right.

Ashley Terry 2011

We’ll end with this one, because it made me laugh. This is what you get for sneaking a taste before the sauce has been seasoned.

Ashley Terry 2011

Happy Saturday!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Food Photography, Personal

Leave a Reply

