Daily Archives: February 28, 2011

Introducing Tabitha / Austin Teen Portrait Photographer

Though my baby sister and I have quite a bit in common, really she is almost everything that I am not. From the day she was born, it was clear that she would be a completely different child, forging her own path and learning her own lessons.

She is strong-willed, independent-minded and confident. She is sassy and grumpy when she’s tired, but affectionate and sweet when she sees you hurting. She is quiet at first, but honest and unapologetic for her beliefs. She likes to have a good time, take a risk and stand out on the ledge. She second-guesses herself just like any young girl, but she won’t let anyone else put a limit on what she can do…and if you test her, she will prove you wrong. She is vulnerable, but stands up for others who don’t do it for themselves. She loves to laugh…but don’t embarass her.

I’ve always been the over-protective big sister, and I don’t know if I will ever overcome that (most days I don’t even want to). But I know that she is so much stronger than I ever was at her age, and when I see her smile and catch the glimmer in her eye, I know I won’t have to worry about her forever. I know she’ll be okay. And when she’s ready to take on the world, I just hope she’ll let me tag along as a sidekick.

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

 

Ashley Terry 2011Ashley Terry 2011

 Special props to my mom for suggesting we use the famous blue and green wall in South Austin that the fabulous Amanda Hagood used in my engagement pictures almost two years ago. I love the colors!

Ashley Terry 2011

 Of course no trip down Congress Avenue is complete without a stop at Amy’s Ice Creams

Ashley Terry 2011

Marlin took this last one of my sister, my mom and me. Even though I look like a complete mess after shooting in the muggy weather all afternoon, I still love it because it represents our unique relationship so well. It just makes me happy.

Ashley Terry 2011

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal, Portrait Portfolio, Teen Portraits