Settlin’

Today’s post on Jasmine Star’s blog is all about fear of failure…and the importance of doing whatever it is you fear anyway.

“You are blessed. Know this. Embrace this. Cherish this. At the end of the day, it’s better to have tried and failed than to have lived your life in a constant state of what-if.”

Yesterday I was in the car, driving to pick up dinner, and as the sun was setting lower in the sky, I let the windows down to feel the last bit of warmth on my arms and the wind on my face. I turned on the radio and the familiar sound of Sugarland (one of my favorites) singing what my heart had been feeling all day.

“Find what it means to be the girl who changed her mind and changed the world. Tired of shooting too low, so raise the bar high, there’s nothing enough this time. I ain’t settling for anything less than everything.”

You see, yesterday I also launched the new website, which is perhaps one of the most terrifying things I’ve done in a very long time. Telling everyone about it ranks just above actually publishing it, because it means someone might actually check it out. I don’t know if I’m ready for that, but unfortunately opportunity doesn’t have a reputation for sticking around while we get our act together. It’s more like the brownies or cookies I always seem to crave after dinner. Eventually I always realize they’re not just going to appear in my kitchen; I’m going to have to make them myself or get over it.

I really have no idea where this new adventure will lead me, but I do know that a rush like this is worth all the risk. My dreams are worth the risk. Really, that’s all it comes down to. Just think how different the world would be if we all really believed that simple little sentence.

My dreams are worth the risk. That means yours are, too.

2 Comments

Filed under Personal, The Business

2 responses to “Settlin’

  1. kathryn pace

    You are such an inspiration to us all! It looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

