The Pace Family / Austin Photographer

The Pace family has a new addition that I’ve been waiting to meet for a long time now. I met Kathryn just over two years ago, in a job interview right out of college. It must have gone fairly well because she offered me the job and I’ve been working for her ever since. Kathryn has been so much more than a boss to me; she has become a very trusted mentor and advisor, and a woman I have a great deal of respect for. I am so lucky to work for her, and even luckier to have the close relationship we have. So last summer when Kathryn told me she and husband Stuart were expecting their second child, I was more than thrilled!

Kathryn has been on maternity leave, so this weekend I finally got the chance to meet baby K. She’s just over two months old, and I can’t get over how little she still is! Kathryn asked me if I’d be interested in getting some updated family shots for them, and it was a no-brainer. I’m just so happy for this incredibly sweet family!

This is T., their son and newly crowned big brother. He’ll be the big three in May, and I wasn’t so sure how he was going to feel about a semi-stranger coming to his house and following him around with a camera. Luckily, he seemed to warm right up and proved to be the ham I’ve seen him be. Doesn’t he just melt your heart?!

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Look how proud Stuart is! Boys and their football. I love this.

Ashley Terry 2011

This is T. with his new baby sister. I think he’s got this big brother thing figured out already.

Ashley Terry 2011

This is the whole family. Seriously, it’s like a postcard for the American dream. This family deserves all their happiness.

Ashley Terry 2011

After shooting in their backyard to make sure the kids were comfortable with me, we moved to the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center in far south Austin. It was my first time (can’t believe I lived in south Austin for four years without ever going) and I will definitely be back. And lucky for us, the bluebonnets are officially blooming! It may be a little cliche, but it’s the official flower of Texas and the first official sign of spring as far as I’m concerned. I love them!

Ashley Terry 2011
Ashley Terry 2011

Little Miss K. was not too excited for a photo shoot, but she’s so precious I have no doubt there will be many, many more in her future.

Ashley Terry 2011

 

He makes me just wanna give those little cheeks a big squeeze!

Ashley Terry 2011

This quite possibly could be one of the sweetest things I’ve ever seen. Seriously, if kids had longer attention spans, I could have shot them all day long.

Ashley Terry 2011

I had to get some of mom and daughter. Isn’t Kathryn beautiful! There really is something to that new baby glow!

Ashley Terry 2011

As gorgeous as posed photos can be, you know I’m a sap for the in-between moments you just can’t plan for. I hope one day Baby K. will see this picture and feel just how much love her mom has for her. This is why I love photography so much!

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Baby K. decided she would open her eyes for one quick pic. You, little Miss, are going to be such a doll!

Ashley Terry 2011

I love this smile on Kathryn’s face–she looks so happy! I’m telling you, the in between moments are so much better than anything I could dream up in my head.

Ashley Terry 2011

T. decided it’s an official big brother duty to push the stroller. I think he’s been planning for this photo shoot all along.

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Toward the end, it was time for business. T. donned his golfing hat and was ready for business.

Ashley Terry 2011
Ashley Terry 2011

To see more of their photos, check out our Facebook page!

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Children Portfolio, Families Portfolio

2 responses to “The Pace Family / Austin Photographer

  1. Dave

    These are touching to say the least, as I get ready to go visit Baby Dracyn an as I type “Cats in a Craddle” by Harry Chapman is playing on the readio and I have tears in my eyes. Life is so precious plaes Do Not let it pass you by!! A proud Husband, Dad and GrandPa. Sorry if there are any typo’s as my vision is blurred from tears!!

    Loving LIfe in Saginaw!!

  2. Linda

    Seeing your shoots makes me truly love the art that photography really is. Catching those “unposed” moments says so much and will leave the best legacy for that family. You have a very promising career ahead of you – you’re a natural.

Leave a Reply

