April 1st

So I intended for this post to be the follow-up to my last one, which means I was supposed to publish it last night but instead I was curled up on the couch with Dugan and oh-so-comfortable, so it just didn’t happen. Which means today we’re going to pretend it’s still April 1st, so this post makes sense. With me? Alright…we can continue.

In the last post I talked about celebrating accomplishments, and yesterday I spent the afternoon celebrating a co-worker who just completed his Ph.D.–talk about accomplishment! Now for someone who was busy building a professional career, being a husband and raising his first child, I’m sure there hasn’t been anything easy about his path. But the point is that he was determined and he knew it was something he had to do to get where he wants to go. So step by step, day by day, he kept working until he was able to celebrate…and breathe a big sigh of relief.

So my question for you is what’s on your Big Dream to-do list? In order to celebrate the accomplishments at the end of the month (or year or lifetime), you have to know what it is you’re trying to do in the first place. Me? I’m one of those nerdy organized types who has to write everything down, otherwise it’s as if it doesn’t exist or never crossed my mind. Really. You should see my purse right now; there are little yellow Post-Its stuffed in every spare pocket and space available. But I know what it takes for me to get things done, so that’s what I do.

All that being said, I’m going to go out on a limb and share my April goal list with you, my friendly readers, because you’re friendly and you won’t laugh at me, right? Thought so! And if I write them down (well, type them out) and I share them with the world (that would be you), I’m much more likely to make myself stick to them. So here goes:

  • I want to blog at least five days of every week (more to read, yay!).
  • I would LOVE to book a second-shooting job for a spring or summer wedding.
  • I think April is a beautiful month to shoot another engagement session…calling all lovebirds!
  • I want to find a local photographer group to get connected with. Inspiration and education are crucial to success!
  • I want to get more comfortable shooting manually in bright afternoon sun (and then I’ll throw a party).

I figure five big goals are sufficient to get me going, since it averages out to about one a week. And since I’ve got a birthday coming up on April 30, I’m feeling extra motivated to feel accomplished at the end of this month. Which means I better wrap this up so I can get started!

What can you accomplish this month to move you closer to your best life? Maybe we can inspire each other!

 

Photo by Keli Lawrence

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal, The Business

Leave a Reply

