A change would do you good…

When I was growing up I used to give my mom a hard time because it seemed like every few months I’d catch her on a random Saturday rearranging one room or another in our house. She was always changing something. If she had just a couple of hours, I’d usually find the t.v. had been moved to the opposite wall in the living room and the coffee table had been moved. Other times, when she had the whole weekend free, it would end up looking like a new house entirely. I never understood why she always had this urge to change everything around…

Until I grew up and became just like her. Now I’m usually calling her to talk through my ideas of how the couches should be angled, and do I really like those tan curtains or should I just leave the white sheers? Now it’s Marlin who’s always laughing at my need to change it all up.

This weekend we’re back to work rearranging, because the claustrophobic desk/work area that’s built into the hallway of our apartment is just not working. We’ve made the guest bedroom into a multi-purpose room, also serving as Marlin’s office since he works from home and it’s also informally the Longhorns room/man cave/X-box station. That meant that in order to have a real workspace to be comfortable, efficient and inspired for all things photography, I’d be moving into the dining area that we really don’t use anyway (we’re nothing if not casual around here).

So this morning I am typing away at my new workstation, which is in desperate need of some style and TLC to spring to life, but we’re working on it. For now, I thought I’d share my inspiration, from the office of Katelyn James. My walls will be a light coffee color instead of teal, though, to go with the rest of the living area so it will have a slightly warmer feel. And I’ve got to make sure it’s not too girly of a space since it will also be the home computer that Marlin uses.

Stay tuned for the before and after shots. Happy Saturday!

1 Comment

Filed under Inspired, Personal, The Business

One response to “A change would do you good…

  1. I can totally relate to this!!
    Can’t wait to see the result 🙂

Leave a Reply

