Kaylie, Part I & The Debut of a Second Shooter

It’s no secret that when you’re first starting out in photography (or any field, really), you need all the help you can get. So I will take all the help I can find. I’m lucky enough to have had some really great models stand in front of my camera, and this was no exception.When my sister-in-law, Kaylie, offered to help me practice my skills I jumped at the chance. And then I did some jumping around at the shoot because I was so excited, and when you see how gorgeous she is, you’ll know why.

Now Kaylie, being her brother’s sister, has learned to love the The University of Texas almost as much as Marlin does…almost. I’m not even sure if Bevo loves it as much as Marlin does. But she makes him proud, and I was so proud to show her off around campus in her burnt orange dress. This shoot was even more exciting because Marlin made his debut as photographer. I have to tell you, he has absolutely no experience with photography, but I was so proud of a few of the shots he got that I really want to take credit for them…but I won’t. I can’t wait to show you!

Ashley Terry 2011

Not only is he pretty good with a camera, but he’s a top notch location scout as well. Marlin found this little hideaway on the UT campus with the most gorgeous light. I really could have shot there all day long. I will definitely be back!

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Girl, you are just too cute! And did I mention, you are rocking those boots. You make Texas proud!

Ashley Terry 2011

See?! Shooting with me is fun! I promise you’ll laugh out loud (most likely at something dumb that I do, but that’s okay).

Ashley Terry 2011

This one makes me so proud. Hook ’em!

Ashley Terry 2011

Had to share this one of my second shooter in waiting. Have you ever seen Friday Night Lights? We were calling him Coach Taylor all day long with those sunglasses on.

Ashley Terry 2011

This might be one of my favorites…but I have so many. Kaylie, you are insanely beautiful!

Ashley Terry 2011

This next one is Marlin’s and I just love it!

Ashley Terry 2011

And then he decided to turn the tables for a “behind the scenes” shot of me. See, I told you our shoots are fun (and feel free to disregard the headband and ponytail. It was hot and windy, so I wanted the hair out of my face).

Ashley Terry 2011

Hey, even models need a break every now and then to check their iPhones. Oh, the life of a diva.

Ashley Terry 2011

The UT campus has so many incredible areas to shoot, we didn’t even get to half of them.

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

I’ll end with this one for now because the light is so gorgeous on her face I just can’t take it anymore. But stay tuned for more this week!

Ashley Terry 2011

Leave a comment

Filed under Portrait Portfolio

Leave a Reply

