Recipe: Taco Pizza

I haven’t really shared any recipes on this blog, but I should tell you that I have a soft spot in my heart for good food. It makes me happy. Making my own good food makes me really happy, and on most days I’m quite content to end the workday making dinner with a nice glass of wine…it’s the little things.

I have three main vices: Mexican food, Italian food and dessert (any kind), and tonight I combined two of them because there’s really no way to go wrong there. It was actually Marlin’s idea, a taco pizza, but he didn’t have to do much convincing.

I’m sharing the recipe here because it was really quite tasty, but you should note that my recipes are not exact and I don’t always believe in measurements, so this should only be used as a guideline. And I always encourage making your own changes as you desire, because in my kitchen I’m executive chef and I imagine you feel the same way.

Taco Pizza

I don’t always have the time (who does?!) but when I do, I believe wholeheartedly in making your own pizza crust. Not only is it infinitely more delicious, but you just can’t beat the smell of fresh baked bread in the house and it’s quite therapeutic to knead the dough, especially if you’ve had a bad day. I wish I could take credit for my pizza dough recipe, but I got it from Emeril, so you can’t really argue with that. It’s perfect, and even though you have to wait for the dough to rise, it’s incredibly easy.

While the dough is rising, I prep my toppings so they’ll be ready to go.

In a deep saucepan, I saute lean ground turkey with 1 whole medium chopped onion (I like the sweeter yellow or red, but any color is fine) in olive oil. Season with salt when the turkey is cooked through and grate in 2 cloves of fresh garlic. Then I turn the heat down to low just to keep it warm and add 2 chopped tomatoes (I take out the seeds and most of the juice first, otherwise the sauce is too thin), 1 small chopped jalapeno, and your choice of green or red salsa. I prefer green tomatillo salsa because it’s lighter and has a nice tangy kick. I add just enough to cover the ingredients–you don’t want too much sauce. Then I just keep it warm until the dough is ready.

For the base of the pizza (where your tomato sauce would be on a traditional pie), I spread a thin layer of black bean hummus, which I make. The hardest part of this recipe is trying not to eat all of the hummus before you’re done cooking. It’s so good!

I use two cans of black beans, drained and rinsed in cold water. Then I dump them in the food processor with a little bit of canola oil and salt to flavor and I add just enough Cholula to give it a little kick. Process until smooth like a dip (you made need a little more oil to make it smoother).

After the dough has risen for about an hour, I roll it out on the pizza pan and pop it in the 450 degree oven (Emeril’s recipe says 500, but that’s too hot for my oven). I give it about five minutes just so it starts to firm up, then pull it out. I spread a thin layer of the black beans and pop it back in the oven for 2-3 minutes. Then I top it with the turkey mix and my favorite cheese and put it back in the oven until it’s nice and bubbly brown (that is a technical term–just ask Rachael Ray).

Let it cool and enjoy! We just had a glass of tea but you may prefer a margarita!

Ashley Terry 2011

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal, Recipes

Leave a Reply

