My directorial debut

If there’s one thing I’ve learned in all of this, it’s that my business is incomplete if it doesn’t have my unique touch on it and that there are great photographers on every corner (there are, trust me). My goal is not to compete with any of them, and I know for you traditionalists out there, that sounds a bit naive, but it’s true. I don’t see this as a competitive venture, at least not for me. I don’t see this world from the same set of eyes that anyone else does, so how can I pretend to be a better photographer than anyone else? And how can I tell you that it’s better for me to tell your story than it is for someone else to?

Since I’ve already made peace with this, I’m doing business a different way. I am who I am, and I have a viewpoint that no one else has, and I see something unique from behind the camera that no one else sees. The icons that I look up to  each have their own personal style, and that’s what makes their work so valuable. I’m Ashley, and no one else can be Ashley like I can, so that’s what I’m doing best. And that is what sets me apart and allows me to bring something new to an industry that tends to be saturated with new talent.

So in an effort to tell my story in a more connective way, I thought I’d start adding video. This first video is an introduction to my style and my work, so tell me what you think. I do ask that you be kind; I’m no videographer and I don’t have professional editing equipment, so we’re doing this in a very casual way.

Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Personal, The Business

4 responses to “My directorial debut

  1. Dave

    Very Nice! Definately from the heart Ashley. One note, the volume of the background music was a little to high.

  2. bucky

    Nice work Ashley.

Leave a Reply

