I’m so loving this lately! | Crazy Love

Normally for this post I would share with you all the random things in life that I’m currently enamored with; flavored coffees, a great-smelling shampoo, the new restaurant around the corner (oh, which reminds me to tell you later about the new restaurant around the corner!).
Today, I’m just featuring one thing because  it’s good enough to warrant its own post: it’s the best-selling book by Francis Chan, Crazy Love.
You know how when you f ind y ourself in a new group of some kind (a new class, a new study group, a new salsa dancing group), the leader always makes everyone play that awful game where you sit in a circle, each person taking a turn telling your name, where you’re from and a crazy talent you have that no one would ever guess? Let me just pause here and say for the record that I HATE this game. There’s nothing worse than being put on the spot in a group of people you don’t know and being forced to come up with something clever to say in thirty seconds or less. I can never think of anything that’s not totally lame, and I always end up telling people that my super secret talent is like organizing or something. Seriously? Organizing? Who wants to be friends with that girl? No one, that’s who!
Anyway, the next time I find myself in this situation, I will be prepared. I’ve discovered that I have a crazy knack for picking out books I’ve never heard anything about and getting them home only to realize that the author is speaking directly to me. Okay, so I know this talent is really exciting either, but for the purpose of this blog post, just roll with me on it, okay?
That’s what happened with Crazy Love. I was roaming the aisles trying to find a Father’s Day gift last month when I discovered Crazy Love, and I decided my dad would probably like it. Then I downloaded it to Marlin’s Kindle after reading the online review. I’m only in the second chapter and I feel like it’s God’s way of saying, “Um hello, Ashley! You need to take this to heart because I’m talking directly to you!”  And when you feel like God is talking directly to you, you stop and listen.
“Do not be anxious about anything (Phil. 4:6).” —Those of you who know me immediately understand why this book is about me now.–  “When I am consumed by my problems–stressed about my life, my family and my job–I actually convey the belief that I think the circumstances are more important than God’s command to always rejoice. That it’s okay to not trust God because the stuff in my life is somehow exceptional. Both worry and stress reek of arrogance. They declare our tendency to forget that our lives here are brief and that in the context of God’s strength, our problems are small, indeed. Why are we so quick to forget God? Who do we think we are? I find myself relearning this lesson often. Even though I glimpse God’s holiness, I am still dumb enough to forget that life is all about God and not about me at all.” –Francis Chan
2 Comments

Filed under Inspired, Personal

2 responses to “I’m so loving this lately! | Crazy Love

  1. Your super secret talent is organizing? I so love you! 🙂
    Great inspirational post–I’m going to go look up that book now!

Leave a Reply

