It aint all about the cookin’

I held a book in each hand, walked up to him and said, “Pick one.”

“I don’t know what you want to read.”

“Just pick one; I’d like either of them. This one looks really good, but this one I’ve almost picked up many times before.”

This is what happens when my husband lets me loose in a bookstore. Hey, he’s just lucky that I don’t come back with all 37 titles that I really want to read; at least I have enough sense to only buy one at a time (most days).

He picked the one I was secretly hoping for; this is how I know we’re meant to be. And turns out, he was right. I finished it in two days.

I can’t remember exactly when my obsession with food writing books started, but I’ve read some great ones. I should put up a list here (adding note to my clutter list now), but if you ever want any recommendations, just shoot me an e-mail. Anyway, this is by far one of my favorites.

Like anyone you will meet in the world, there is so much more to the lady from Savannah with the big smile, the big laugh, and the big love of butter than we ever knew. She’s not afraid to tell it like it is, warts and all, and she’s got so much of that southern charm that I think it makes America fall even more in love with her.

“I plan to tell some hard secrets in these pages,” she writes. “I’m prayin’ that if even one of you out there gets some inspiration from the way my own American dream turned into reality, it’ll be worth playing true confessions here.”

Alright, Miss Dean, it was worth it.

It Aint All About the Cookin', Simon & Schuster 2007

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

