Recipe: Potato Basil Frittata (Inspired by the Barefoot Contessa)

This recipe is from yesterday’s post. I got the idea for a potato basil frittata by looking up a brunch menu from Ina Garten, the Barefoot Contessa. I say my frittata is inspired by because, as usual, I got the basic idea and then I made the dish myself and added my own special touches. That’s actually how I use most recipes, except for anything that involves baking, because that’s got to be exact.

So for this frittata I started with a 400 degree oven and the following ingredients:

Eggs

2 tomatoes

2-3 red potatoes

Monterrey Jack cheese, shredded

Salt & Pepper

Milk (I had soy in the house, but you can use any kind you like, or even a cream for a more decadent meal)

Basil, chopped

 

I chopped the potatoes into bite-size chunks and fried them like I would hasbrowns, in a skillet with a very shallow layer of canola oil, then I set them aside to cool. I diced the tomatoes to sprinkle on top just before putting the frittata in the oven, and set those aside too. Before I diced them, I used a spoon to clean out the tomato and take all the extra juices and seeds out.

In the bowl with the potatoes, I pour my eggs (amount depends on how many people you’re feeding; I used the equivalent of four eggs to make one frittata that fed three people and left plenty of leftovers). I add the cheese and a splash of milk and a few dashes of salt and pepper. Then I add the chopped basil and stir it all together.

Pour the mixture into a nonstick skillet (or one that’s been greased) and sprinkle the tomatoes all over the top. Then I pop it in the oven just until the frittata is firm all the way through and the sides are just starting to brown up a little. If you want to test it, you can stick a toothpick or a knife in the middle like you would a cake.

For serving, I carefully slide it out onto a nice big plate with a couple of spatulas and then sprinkle a little extra basil or parsley on top to make it extra pretty.

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

3 Comments

Filed under Food Photography, Recipes

3 responses to “Recipe: Potato Basil Frittata (Inspired by the Barefoot Contessa)

  1. Yum! Love all these ingredients, looks delicious!

    • Thanks so much, Casey! I haven’t made too many frittatas so I’m never quite sure how they’re going to turn out, but this one was really easy and pretty foolproof. Thank you for stopping by; I see that you’ve got your own food blog, so I’ll have to check out some of those great looking recipes you’ve shared. Keep up the great work!

  2. Linda

    Yum, sounds and LOOKS delicious!! Definitely have to try this one.

Leave a Reply

