A barbecue road trip…without forks. Or sauce. But there was cobbler!

A couple of weeks ago Marlin and I took the day off for his birthday to take a day trip out to Lockhart, Texas. Rumor has it that Lockhart has the best barbecue in the state, and some say it’s best in the country. Either way, Marlin was determined to find out.

Of course you know there was research involved. We couldn’t just pick up and go, no way. This little town is full of barbecue joints, so how on Earth do you decide which one you’ll visit? Well, that’s a no-brainer. You consult an old episode of Food Wars, which airs the showdown between two competing styles; seriously, it’s like the Capulets against the Montagues. These people are serious.

The show was enough to convince Marlin, so we made the hour drive or so and found ourselves in front of Kreuz Market, which has been there since (get this) 1900.

Ashley Terry 2011

Look at him, he’s like a man on a mission. Anyway, y’all, I wish that someone had been videoing us at this place, because it was like walking into Man’s Land. Seriously, there should have been a sign on the door that said, “No Girls Allowed.”

Now don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy good barbecue, but I’m not a major carnivore. The first thing I do when I walk in is check out the menu…and realize there’s no turkey. Now every good Texan will tell you that brisket is barbecue, not turkey, but well, what can I say? Born and raised and I still prefer turkey, so deal with it. I think Marlin thought I was joking, but I couldn’t find it. Okay, I said, this is my husband’s day, not mine. I’m okay with brisket, so I’ll try some and be a trooper…but I insist on lean (and I think this is the point where I’ve lost any male readers, if I ever had them at all).

Next we get closer to ordering (there is a long line on a Friday, which does attest to the staple this place is in the local scene) and I remember that this place doesn’t do sauce. Um, no barbecue sauce? That’s the only reason I eat barbecue, is so I have an excuse to slather it with barbecue sauce. Really, no sauce. That’s not how it’s done here.

And then I see the sign that basically reads, “Ashley, you are out of your league.” Okay, it didn’t really say that, but it did say, “No forks. No kidding.” No forks? Are they really kidding? I take a quick scan of the dining room and everyone is eating with their hands. I’m pretty sure Marlin’s favorite part of the day was the look on my face when I realized I’d be eating smoked brisket with no utensils. You guys, I usually eat pizza with a fork so my hands don’t get greasy.

You’ll be happy to know that I dug in and decided when in Lockhart…eat with your hands…at least there’s no sauce.

Ashley Terry 2011

Now to show that this was no ordinary road trip, we had to stop at one more barbecue place just to say we did. So next, it was on to Black’s Barbecue, which I’m happy to report, does serve sauce (and forks)! Only we were too full to try the barbecue, so that’s for next time. Instead, my husband rewarded my efforts with peach cobbler and Blue Bell…totally worth it!

Ashley Terry 2011

As a side note, to those who are wondering: No, my husband was not on a Texas Longhorns recruiting trip in these photos. He dresses like this every day.

2 Comments

Filed under Food Photography, Personal

2 responses to “A barbecue road trip…without forks. Or sauce. But there was cobbler!

  1. Hahaha, no my husband was not on a recruiting trip! This post made me laugh so much and now I’m yearnin for some brisket and peach cobbler 🙂

    • Ha! Thanks so much, Sarah! Not sure how you found the post (or the blog), but I’m so glad you stopped by for a minute! Thank you for taking the time to share that with me. I took a little peek at your blog and it looks like you travel to Texas every now and then and lived in Houston, so I’m sure you know a few good places for barbecue yourself. If you’re ever in the Austin area for work, feel free to send me a little message. I’d love to meet you for a cup of coffee or some good cobbler!

Leave a Reply

