Loving this lately

Well my goodness time sure does fly. It’s been so hectic on the back end here that I realize I’m a bit behind on posting, so I’m happy to say on this early Monday morning that I’m back! Last night I realized it’s been a while since we did an installment of Loving This Lately, so I  thought we’d start the week off with a few things I’m loving lately.   These chewy coconut lime sugar cookies. I found the recipe on Pinterest, but it came from The Girl Who Ate Everything (don’t have to act surprised that I would read something like that) and they are oh so addictive! Even Marlin has labeled them, the perfect summer cookie. You’ve just got to try them.

Ashley Terry 2011

The Help, by Kathryn Stockett

Okay, so normally I don’t like to read books or go see movies that have such strong followings because, well, I like to be stubborn and pretend that I don’t want to do what everyone else is doing. But I read an incredible story about the tenacity of the author and her own stubbornness to get the book published and thought, I would probably like this writer. I’m only about a quarter of the way in, so the final verdict is still pending but I can tell you that I’ve been jumping back in every chance I get.

Our new Mac!

In case you haven’t heard the news, it’s official. This girl with the irrational fear of technology who happens to be the only person under the age of 30 without a smartphone, is now a Mac, and this revelation has really changed my life. Marlin and I had been discussing getting a new computer that we can take on the road with us when we travel, and then he surprised me with it last week. For a girl who’s used nothing but a PC her entire life (save those first two years in college when I was in the journalism department) and can’t even work an iPhone, this is pretty extraordinary. There is no verdict still waiting on this one. I’m in love!

Image via apple.com

 

Southern Weddings Magazine

Now normally I’m not a huge fan of wedding magazines and I know that makes me a bit of an anomaly as a girl, but it’s true. I usually find that I’m so overwhelmed with ads for dresses and honeymoon resorts that I don’t find a lot of substantial character or personality to them, but if you’ve never checked out Southern Weddings Magazine, it’s a must. I’m so in awe of this little group of southern gals in North Carolina who are putting out this amazing publication! It’s all the things I wanted in a wedding magazine when I was a bride-to-be but could never find. Not only is the layout gorgeous, but the columns are so cute and funny and you can really tell that this is not just another title from a major publishing house; it’s all done but this adorable group of southern belles just bringing you the goods on what’s inspiring them with a twist of some good old fashioned charm. Seriously, I haven’t been a bride in almost two years (can’t believe that, by the way) and I’m now addicted to a wedding magazine. You can find them, too, over at www.iloveswmag.com. Keep up the great work, ladies! You’re quite the inspiration.

 

My mom!

Okay, so I’ll admit this isn’t new. I’m not really loving my mom lately; I love her all the time. However, she has somewhat of a milestone birthday this week so I’m thinking about her a little more than usual, and I just could never tell you how grateful I am to know her. She’s super fabulous, and I can’t wait for her to come visit us this weekend so we can celebrate her awesomeness.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal

One response to “Loving this lately

  1. Mama

    And I can’t wait to come to Austin to celebrate; just not the same without my girls with me. BTW, those cookies look wonderful – possibly good enough for a birthday celebration! 🙂 Big Hug, Little Hug

Leave a Reply

