On gratitude, pain, and blessings

Today I am thankful. I could give you a list of everything I’m grateful for, but you’d get bored long before I got to the end. This week I’ve been texting back and forth with an old friend…each time we think of something we’re thankful for, we send a message and tell the other one. It’s put me in a great mood all week, and it’s fun to hear what someone else appreciates in their own life.

Dinner prep has been going on all morning. Later today, we’ll fill our plates, refill our plates, watch some football (you’re going down, Aggies…yea, I said it), and probably refill our plates again. On days like today, I’m acutely aware that I have more than most, and most certainly have more than I need or deserve. In this go-go-go world, it’s nice to take a day to breathe, spend time with the people (and the puppies) who make our life worth living, and just be content knowing that God is good. I’m also acutely aware that not everyone is having a great day like I am. There are people I love dearly and people I’ll never meet who are hurting today, and if you’re lucky enough to be smiling today like me, it’s our privilege, really, to take a moment and think of those going through hard times, and to send up a little prayer on their behalf. We’re all in this together.

So wherever you find yourself today, I hope your day is blessed in some way big or small. I hope that you get to experience gratitude for something, because it just really doesn’t get any better than that.

Ashley Terry 2011

 

1 Comment

Filed under Faith & Inspiration, Personal

One response to “On gratitude, pain, and blessings

  1. Linda

    Amen. Blessings to my family – I love you all dearly and wish only the best for you. Special prayers have gone out to those who are hurting….keep the faith and know God will get you through this. Don’t shy away from family; turn to them. Nobody does or ever will love you like we do!!

Leave a Reply

