Meet Carli | Everyday Portraits

Yesterday my sister-in-law took me to see downtown in the little North Carolina town where she lives. We took our cameras because she’s a photographer and I wanted a tutoring lesson (she won’t call it that, but that’s what it was for me). Not only did I get to watch her work with posing, lighting,exposure and the impromptu wind storm that blew in, but I got to shoot with her 35mm 1.4 lens. I was so smitten, if I wasn’t already married I would have given it my number.

There’s definitely something to be said for practicing and learning with someone who’s (a) not paying you, and (b) doesn’t really have any expectations and understands the pressure of being behind the camera. Carli was so patient with me and so open to share anything she knew without being the least bit intimidating. Carli, can you please move back to Texas so we can shoot together every weekend?

I’m proud to share a few of my favorite shots with you, partly because I’m pretty excited about the progress I made, but mainly because I’m just so proud to know this girl and she was workin’ it so I want to show off her killer modeling skills.

Copyright Ashley Terry 2011

I’m in love with this wood door and the brick pavement surrounding it. Would have shot with her all day in that same spot.

Copyright Ashley Terry 2011

Copyright Ashley Terry 2011

 This might be my favorite picture that I’ve taken of anything. Ever. Can you believe those eyes?!

Copyright Ashley Terry 2011

Copyright Ashley Terry 2011

Copyright Ashley Terry 2011

Copyright Ashley Terry 2011

Um, are you serious? I’m pretty sure this is what God meant for me to look like, and something happened somewhere along the way.

Copyright Ashley Terry 2011

Copyright Ashley Terry 2011

Copyright Ashley Terry 2011

2 Comments

Filed under Portrait Portfolio

2 responses to “Meet Carli | Everyday Portraits

  1. Linda

    Great photos…but not sure if I should give you too much credit since the subject was too easy to get great shots of. ha However, you were not meant to look like that….you were meant to look like the beautiful young woman that YOU are!! -Mama

  2. Oh, alright. I guess it’ll do.

Leave a Reply

