Cupcakes & Little Red Wagons: Travis’ 1st Birthday | Bastrop Family Photographer

This weekend I had the sincere privilege of documenting a very special day, and I’m so thankful. What an amazing thing I get to do with this camera of mine!

Dear Travis,

I know you won’t be reading this for years, but I wanted to give you a first birthday gift that you can have for the rest of your life. I’ve been lucky enough to become friends with your parents. I know how badly they wanted you and how thrilled they were when they found out you were on your way. I still remember the morning at the office when I heard about Little Baby White; the excitement and the joy in your mother’s eyes were unmistakable. Each week the girls at work would get an update on how you were doing and as soon as you were old enough, she brought you in to show you off. You are so blessed to have parents that love you so deeply, and I know that this first year is just the beginning of many, many years of love and laughter that you all will have as a family. Happy first birthday! Thank you for letting me share your cupcakes and your big day.

Krista did all of the cupcakes and the decorations by herself. I adore the little red wagon theme that she picked; I’ve never seen a children’s birthday party with that theme before and it just takes you back to the good ol’ days. Krista, I know you’re a writer by profession, but if you ever decide to give event planning a try, I think you’d have a good start! You are so creative.

Ashley Terry 2011

Speaking of creative, one of Travis’ gifts (his favorite gift by far, I would say) was a little red race car so Krista designed and created for Travis his very own gas pump! I know! I’ve never seen anything like it. Adorable.

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Y’all know I’m a sucker for a cute puppy! This is Miss Saige, and she is quite possibly the sweetest little thing you’ll ever meet. I almost tried to take her home with me while everyone else was distracted by the presents.

Ashley Terry 2011

The little red racer; is this kid going to be cruising or what?

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

You know it’s a Texas party when there’s plenty of root beer and Dr. Pepper.

Ashley Terry 2011

Now for the best part, the little man himself. Seriously, is he not one of the cutest kids you’ve ever seen? 

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Is this the face of a mother in love with her son or what? If you can believe it, Travis’ face lights up even more any time he sees either Mom or Dad. It just melts your heart.

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Not so sure what to expect, he started off with a little taste of the icing…

Ashley Terry 2011

And then he figured out how it’s done and went in for the big bites! This is my kinda kid.

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

Ashley Terry 2011

2 Comments

Filed under Children Portfolio

2 responses to “Cupcakes & Little Red Wagons: Travis’ 1st Birthday | Bastrop Family Photographer

  1. Ashley – What an amazing birthday gift! Travis may not understand right now, but we know how great this gift is, and we are so honored to call you friend (and Trav’s official photographer!). You did an amazing job capturing his birthday party. Thank you so so much!

Leave a comment